Iron Sharpens Iron

A couples of weeks ago, I have had an old Planetshakers song ‘deeper’ struck in my head, I’ve singing at home, in the office, in the rain and pretty much everywhere I go. And my favourite part of the song is the chorus:

Take me deeper, Than I’ve been before;
Take me further, God I long for more;
Take me higher, Than I’ve been before;
Jesus I want more, Jesus I need more

“As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend”
Proverbs 27:17 (NLT)

Proverbs declares that as iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend. In other words, Solomon teaches us that one of the ways to go deeper in our relationship with God, is by been part of a vibrant community of believers. And one of the things, I love about church is the opportunity to connect in small groups, where we get to do life together – a place for us to read the Bible together, intercede for each other and enjoy great fellowship. If you not part of a small group at your local church, can I encourage you this week to consider joining one because it will help strengthen, hone and take your relationship with God deeper for “as iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend”.

Leave a Reply

